Knowledgebase

SiteBackup FAQ

Posted by Ashley Hayward on September 21 2015 02:53 PM

Q: What is SiteBackup?

A: SiteBackup, powered by Dropmysite, is a complete backup solution for backing up your websites and databases. SiteBackup also provides website performance monitoring and website blacklist monitoring, both of which will instantly notify you if any issues occur.

Q: Is my data secure? What encryption do you use? 

A: Yes! Security is our number one priority. We use AES 256 bit encryption and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) to protected your data.

Q: How often is my data backed up? Can I change the backup interval?

A: You can change scheduled backup settings at any time. For specific instructions on doing so, please see one of the following articles: How to Change Website Backup Profile Settings OR How to Change Database Backup Profile Settings

Q: How long does it take for the data to be backed up? How long does it take for data to be restored?

A: Backups and restores can take some time to complete. The time to completion will largely depend on the number of files and folders that will need to be processed. It is recommended that you leave your web browser window or tab open until the backup or restore completes, to ensure no interruption occurs.

Q: How long is the backup data retained?

A: Backup data can be retained as long as you need it to be. When creating or editing a scheduled backup profile, you are able to change the retention settings as needed. You can also download a local copy of your files as an extra means of data retention: How to Download a Website Backup OR How to Download a Database Backup

Q: How do I know if Google has detected potential malware or phishing data on my URL?

A: As soon as any potential malware or phishing data is detected, SiteBackup will sent you an email alert to you. Additionally, the first time you log in to the dashboard after malware is detected, you will see a popup that provides more information regarding this alert.

Q: What should I do if my website is blacklisted?

A: If your website has triggered a blacklisting alert, we suggest that you review the Google diagnostic page for further information on why the site was marked as unsafe, along with helpful links to resources to review and remove any malware content: How to View the Google Diagnostic Page for a Blacklisted Website

You also have the option of restoring your website to a point before any malicious content was found. Instructions on performing file restores can be found here: How to Restore Files or Folders from a Website Backup Profile OR How to Restore a Database Backup Profile

If you have any further questions that were not answered in this article, please contact us.

(2 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Copyright © 2016 HostMySite